Passing of an musical icon


15541655_10158047970585724_7731011204870369898_n we are saddened to learn of the passing of gospel musical icon Joe Ligon ,I grew up listening to him and the group he founded the Mighty Clouds Of Joy his records were played in our home by my dad Elder Percy Johnson Sr and as well as my uncle James Thomas Shutes.

I met Mr.Joe Ligon while sharing a concert with him back in November,1986 I was only 15 then and at the time I was part of the Deliverance House of Prayer Mass Choir the show was at College Hill Auditorium in Brownsville,Tn.

He was a towering figure in black gospel music during the time of the passing of my step-grandmother Lennie Johnson his songs brought joy to our hearts during that time of grief RIP Joe Ligon 1936-2016 “you made a step”.

Leave a Reply

